“There are no universities that have done what Notre Dame aspires to do: to become a preeminent research University, to offer an unsurpassed undergraduate program, and to infuse both with a religious and moral framework that imbues knowledge with the power to benefit human beings.”

—Rev. John I. Jenkins, C.S.C., president

The Catholic intellectual and moral traditions provide the underlying foundation for our aspirations as a community of scholars and administrators and shape the spirit with which we engage each other and the world. They are also the University’s point of greatest distinction from the academies of many other fine research institutions.

Notre Dame believes commitments to faith and reason are not only compatible, but even complementary and mutually beneficial. As Pope John Paul II wrote: “Science can purify religion from error and superstition; religion can purify science from idolatry and false absolutes. Each can draw the other into a wider world in which both can flourish.”

In this way, Notre Dame’s Catholic character informs all it does. We pursue discoveries both because of the scholarly and scientific achievement they represent, and because of the potential these breakthroughs have for a world deeply in need. Our charter as a university calls us to pursue the former; our calling as a community rooted in faith compels us to find the latter. We pursue both with equal rigor.

Faith Service Inline

Our nature as a Catholic university moreover gives us cause to embody two important characteristics: a spirit of inclusion and welcoming of people from all faith traditions, or no faith tradition; and an earnest desire to serve the local and global community. Our diversity as a campus community is an essential precursor to mutual learning and understanding, and service provides needed perspective and significance to all facets of life and helps cultivate a spirit of connection to each other. Both are important contributions to a holistic educational experience.

The Catholic nature of Notre Dame is visibly evident in a variety of ways on campus. The 43 Holy Cross priests in residence provide a steadfast spiritual presence that extends to the residence halls, classrooms, and the quads. More than 100 Masses are celebrated each week on campus at more than 50 on-campus chapels. And more than 80 percent of Notre Dame students participate in some form of service learning, even while they study abroad. Our faith is not just a characteristic present at our founding and then slowly relegated to the past. It is an inextricable part of Notre Dame's identity today and will continue to be in the future.

An empty Basilica of the Sacred Heart, a priest is livestreaming a service.

Faith & Service

Prayer in a Plague

Easter and Passover in Quarantine

Read story

A woman talking to a group of people.

Faith & Service

Safeguarding the Vulnerable

Kathleen McChesney, law enforcement trailblazer and victim advocate, to receive 2020 Laetare Medal

塘头| 汝南| 长安| 台儿庄| 红原| 庄河| 宁陕| 安达| 阿里山| 涡阳| 清涧| 老河口| 辽源| 黟县| 镇远| 高阳| 长顺| 中甸| 蔡家湖| 平凉| 巴彦诺尔贡| 牙克石| 深泽| 盐边| 泾源| 潍坊| 五原| 桐梓| 临西| 剑阁| 八宿| 亳州| 郴州| 泰顺| 乌拉特后旗| 同心| 新港| 盘锦| 聊城| 徐水| 孟村| 沾益| 衡南| 安吉| 察哈尔右翼后旗| 巴雅尔吐胡硕| 青州| 柳州| 福州郊区| 建昌| 巴东| 平果| 子洲| 拐子湖| 引水船| 海淀| 石棉| 崇明| 习水| 丹阳| 安达| 牟平| 安陆| 公主岭| 大城| 新县| 六枝| 川沙| 蓝田| 察尔汉| 蠡县| 高碑店| 怀化| 黄冈| 塔什库尔干| 咸阳| 西乌珠穆沁旗| 祁县| 汉寿| 巴里坤| 巢湖| 澳门| 茫崖| 金溪| 南涧| 蒲城| 大同| 信阳| 鹤山| 黑山| 合浦| 河南| 魏县| 湘阴| 满城| 甘洛| 塔城| 常宁| 安达| 和静| 通山| 遂溪| 个旧| 隆安| 五营| 平果| 景洪电站| 灵璧| 海门| 康保| 武胜| 尼木| 榆树| 丹阳| 霸州| 滁州| 永川| 尼勒克| 单县| 龙南| 彭县| 修文| 攀枝花| 安远| 三明| 云和| 沙湾| 行唐| 江城| 淳安| 满都拉| 谷城| 平谷| 应县| 桐城| 托克托| 玉山| 安义| 海阳| 姜堰| 遵义| 安顺| 南平| 嘉兴| 温宿| 天池| 确山| 淄川| 昌平| 通许| 集贤| 西充| 栾城| 郧县| 台南| 新港| 云龙| 永定| 遂宁| 新兴| 师宗| 象州| 芦山| 安义| 邵武| 聂拉木| 岳池| 大邑| 十三间房气象站| 巧家| 桂东| 平阳| 迁安| 民勤| 遂川| 绥芬河| 双牌| 云龙| 绥化| 汤原| 孤家子| 安溪| 迭部| 和政| 郯城| 榆树| 永定| 琼结| 罗子沟| 太仆寺旗| 乐业| 山丹| 河源| 高陵| 茶陵| 北镇| 定襄| 绛县| 隆尧| 公安| 伊川| 沙湾| 平山| 引水船| 吐鲁番东坎| 炉山| 阿里| 阿拉善右旗| 聂拉木| 靖边| 宜宾县| 永兴| 通辽钱家店| 魏县| 治多| 上川岛| 正宁| 光山| 郏县| 小灶火| 西青| 中环| 方正| 凤冈| 皮山| 景东| 砀山| 宁城| 荔波| 沈阳| 诺木洪| 轮台| 内江| 金秀| 丹东| 澄城| 西吉| 盱眙| 杞县| 夏河| 福山| 于洪| 彭水| 三穗| 邳州| 雅布赖| 小二沟| 平定| 常德| 拐子湖| 饶平| 宜丰| 罗子沟| 怀化| 若尔盖| 固始| 松滋| 合水| 德清| 射阳| 成县| 惠农| 太谷| 孟连| 康山| 承德县| 喀左| 汝城| 南宫| 株洲县| 邵东| 陈巴尔虎旗| 延吉| 府谷| 温宿| 修武| 来凤| 合肥| 巩义| 于田| 孝义| 乌拉特后旗| 大悟| 宕昌| 沂源| 上川岛| 林甸| 习水| 小二沟| 钟山| 灵石| 黄梅| 云县| 孟村| 宜川| 昌吉| 铁干里克| 罗田| 马鬃山| 海丰| 南澎岛| 蒲城| 汤河口| 岗子| 昌江| 古浪| 普洱| 嵩县| 静海| 海阳| 望江| 浦东| 朱日和| 淮南| 荔波| 福贡| 万州龙宝| 肥乡| 商都| 朝克乌拉| 乌兰乌苏| 麦盖提| 丹阳| 滕州| 托克托| 宾阳| 凤台| 元氏| 洪泽| 东兴| 正宁| 北川| 卓资| 周至| 巴楚| 内黄| 宜阳| 芜湖| 昆山| 小灶火| 临武| 罗田| 广平| 舒兰| 临澧| 静乐| 高安| 太原| 浦北| 红安| 龙川| 朱日和| 峨眉山| 宜城| 新龙| 伊通| 绥德| 南宫| 高力板| 灵宝| 精河| 高力板| 冀州| 凤山| 湘阴| 清水河| 乾县| 南宁城区| 淳安| 靖宇| 察尔汉| 五大连池| 温州| 昆明农试站| 伊宁县| 新宁| 崇左| 潼南| 清兰| 武隆| 永仁| 道真| 麻城| 延川| 建水| 仪征| 江津| 新蔡| 明水| 兴仁堡| 涠洲岛| 获嘉| 隆回| 云阳| 灵邱| 大丰| 砀山| 太仓| 苍山| 吉县